Open for applications



The Australian Scholarships Foundation – ASF - is the only Australian organisation solely focused on funding and facilitating scholarships for Australian not for profit (NFP) directors and staff to undertake education, training  and mentoring programs that improve their ability to lead and manage their organisations.

ASF is the Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) Fund of AusSchol Incorporated, an Australian registered charity, ABN 83 420 919 581.

ASF works with a number of Education Partners and Supporters to access and make scholarships available in a growing range of leadership and management training programs. These include post graduate university diploma, certificate and degree courses, short management and other training programs and specialized mentoring services. Disciplines covered include leadership, finance, accounting and risk management, board governance, strategic planning, project management, marketing and social networking. 

ASF does not provide any education and training programs in its own right, although it commissions education providers and private companies to deliver specific programs that meet NFP needs.

Full details, application forms and terms and conditions of current scholarships can be viewed at Current Scholarships Available in “Scholarships” & “FAQs”.

ASF is a proud member of Philanthropy Australia.

2015 Scholarships for Not-for-Profit Directors and Chairs

ASF logo

AICD logo     Perpetual logo

320 Australia-wide Scholarships for Not-for-Profit Directors and Chairs - Available Now!

For the fourth year running, ASF is partnering with Perpetual and the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) to offer 320 scholarships to help not-for-profit (NFP) organisations enhance their governance.

Applications are now open for the Governance Foundations for Not-for-Profit Directors course and the Not-for-Profit Chairman course, run by the AICD and funded by the Perpetual Foundation, in partnership with the JS Love Trust.

ASF will award 320 places (valued at over $1,000 each) for the courses aimed at board directors of charitable organisations looking to develop a deeper knowledge of the responsibilities of directorship, financial governance and performance issues relating to not-for-profit organisations.

A research study by the Centre for Social Impact at the University of Western Australia and the Australian Scholarships Foundation, funded by the Origin Foundation, has established links between the scholarship program and improved performance by individual directors and boards.

Perpetual’s General Manager of Philanthropy, Andrew Thomas, said these insights suggest that providing NFPs with help to fund education and organisational development is making a real difference.

Amy Lyden, CEO of ASF, said the scholarships are an opportunity to strengthen the effectiveness of NFPs.

“Governance training for NFP boards continues to be an overwhelming demand for ASF. An effective board quite often equates to a more effective NFP organisation, and everyone benefits as a result. We thank Perpetual and JS Love Trust for generously supporting this initiative”, said Ms Lyden.

The courses will run in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth (NFP Directors) and Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth (NFP Chairman) in February 2015.

Not-for-Profit Directors and Chairs Australia-wide are encouraged to apply. This is a fantastic opportunity to build your skills in governance to better serve your NFP organisaton.

Don’t miss your chance – APPLY NOW! Applications close Monday 27th October 2014 at 5pm AEDT.

To access the media release please click here.

Bankwest Foundation Launch

Bankwest Foundation Launch

Bankwest Launch

W/Prof Paul Flatau, Prof Paul Johnson, Amy Lyden,
Craig Spencer, Francis Lynch, Rob De Luca, Paul Murnane

On the 4th September, the Australian Scholarships Foundation and the Bankwest Foundation came together to announce a new partnership which focuses on building capacity in leadership and governance through an extensive WA based scholarships program.

Designed for community sector leaders and directors, the $1m scholarships program addresses a critical need for professional development in governance, risk management and project management in Western Australia.

During the launch, we heard from Rob De Luca, Managing Director of Bankwest, Craig Spencer, Head of Community Engagement at Bankwest, Francis Lynch, CEO of Ruah Community Services and Prof Paul Johnson, Vice-Chancellor at UWA.

ASF’s own Amy Lyden also shared her experiences with the not-for-profit sector and discussed the huge importance of education and training to grow and sustain the sector.

Click here to find out more about the scholarship program.

Click ‘Read More’ to see photos from the launch.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 13
600,000 NFP organisations contributes nearly 5% to GDP -$41b annually employs nearly 900,000 people attracts 4.6m volunteers
(source: ABS 2006-07 and Productivity Commission 2010)